Unhappily Employed → Full-Time Business Owner, Writer & YouTuber

A Story of Hope and a Better Future

Rachel Anne Helms
3 min readSep 8, 2023
Photo by Rosie Kerr on Unsplash

I got fired.

Now, this WAS a complete surprise, but something I had been hoping would happen for the last few months.

My boss was awful and demanded way more from me and my team than what was reasonable — The worst micromanagement I’ve ever experienced, and demanded we work 9+ hours a day, into the evenings and on the weekends.

This job had completely taken over my life, leaving little time to even recover from it, much less, have an actual life outside of it.

I was miserable and had been wanting to quit for months but couldn't justify it without first replacing my income. I even wrote my resignation letter already (hoping my side hustle activities would make enough income to justify my sending it).

I tried looking for other jobs but really didn’t have the bandwidth because of how demanding my boss was on time outside of our already 45+ hour work week.

I was also trying to write/publish more, start my YouTube channel, and work on starting my own business so I could leave.

It was all too much, and I was feeling incredibly burnt out.

--

--

Rachel Anne Helms

ADHD, Autism, & cPTSD. Lifelong learner and sharer of acquired knowledge and wisdom. Join The Neurodivergent Network Community -> https://bit.ly/j0in